Misc

Freshwater Aquarium Wishlist

I previously owned an aquarium. Before that I owned a single betta. I did everything wrong. And that’s why I want to do it again. The last time I owned an aquarium, I didn’t know anything about aquariums. I researched what to do, what you need, and how to take care of it. But, I just didn’t want to make the time commitment. So, the tank suffered. I am ready now though to make that commitment. I am going to go over a couple of the items on my list.

1: Fluval Spec III

Fluval Spec III in black

Image courtesy of Amazon.com

The Fluval Spec III is a 2.6 gal. aquarium kit that includes a built in light and filtration system. It is the perfect size for a single male betta and a couple of shrimp. The light is also bright enough to grow some low light aquatic plants. And at a price of $69.99 MSRP, this is a pretty good deal.


2: Male Halfmoon Plakat Betta

Male Halfmoon Plakat Betta

Image courtesy of Petco

Most people probably wouldn’t want this kind of betta. It is not the most pretty betta, but it is close to what the wild bettas looked like. Also, the ones in the store were much more colorful than the photo lets on. Bettas are easy to care for and don’t need a lot of attention.


3: Ghost Shrimp

Ghost Shrimp

Image courtesy of PetSmart

These little guys are really cool. What’s crazy is you can hardly see them because they are mostly transparent. Because of this, when you feed them, you can even see the food inside their stomachs. And they are really inexpensive, so four or five of these guys would only cost around two dollars.


There are many more items, but I don’t want to bore you. Have you guys ever had an aquarium? I would love to hear your comments.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Freshwater Aquarium Wishlist

  1. That betta breed is beautiful and that tank is grand. Every body always says they need huge tanks but i disagree, i have a betta in a one gallon tank all his life and he is so happy there! I would just disagree on the shrimp because your betta may eat it. 😛

  2. I’ve had a bunch of aquariums over the years. I currently have some really nice ones set up for my Betta Macrostomas. I have a blog about it. If you want to find some really nice Bettas, check out the website Aquabid.Com. If you haven’t been on that site, you’ll find yourself amazed by what’s out there.

Leave a Reply

