X-55 Rhino HOTAS (Image courtesy of Amazon.com)
Game Posts

X-55 Rhino Ghosting Fix

Recently, I purchased an X-55 Rhino HOTAS. Once I received it, I set it up and started playing. It worked great for a day or two, then I began noticing it would press a button occasionally without my pressing it. So, of course, I searched the internet and found that it is a common issue with the X-55. Apparently, the unit uses a lot of power, more than a USB2 socket can consistently put out. So everyone recommended buying a powered USB hub or using USB3. As I was using USB3 already, I went ahead and purchased a USB hub. Once the hub arrived, I was excited to see that it worked…for a few minutes. Then the button presses came back. I was really at a loss as of what to do, so again, I searched around. I eventually found that the X-55 has an issue with USB3, so I plugged it into a USB2 socket and voila, no ghosting. So the take away is: use a powered hub and USB2 socket. However, the hub can be USB3, as is the case with mine, just plug the hub into USB2. I hope this helped some people, and if you are questioning whether or not to buy this HOTAS, do so. It is the best HOTAS I’ve used.

Image courtesy of Amazon.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

