Diamond v2
3D Art

Material Study: Diamond v2

Last week I released a diamond material. I got a few comments suggesting some changes, so I thought I would go back and tweak some things. So here it is: v2 of the diamond shader. Continue reading to see what I changed and download the shader.

Just a warning, this post is quite image heavy. 🙂 Again, I’ve uploaded the .blend file so you can tweak it.

Before I go into detail about the new shader here’s a comparison with the same lighting setup:

Diamond v2 Comparision

Here’s how the node group looks like now:

Diamond v2.1

And inside the group:

Diamond v2.1 Group

Unlike the previous version (which had two shaders), I’ve added a dispersion amount, so you only need one shader. However, I kept the Volume Absorption the same. I’ve also added a couple different inputs including: Roughness, IOR, and Dispersion.

After doing some more research (and many formulas later), I resorted to master blendheads before me: the standard red, green, and blue combination. I tried using the wavelength node and some math combinations but the standard combination just works really well. Really, cycles should bend the different wavelengths for us, but that currently doesn’t happen (I would love for it to be implemented, hint, hint 🙂 ).

The shader now works by using three glass shaders to simulate the primary colors: red, green, and blue. The dispersion effect still works the same: the IOR is slightly different for each glass shader. Then I combined them with the add shader (which now adds exactly to white).

Now all you have to do to color the diamond is change the Color. When coloring the diamond I would use the HSV color control and not go above 0.200 saturation. Otherwise, the reflections get colored as well.

Diamond v2 - Change Color

Diamond v2 - Colored

Hue of 0, Saturation of 0.050

By setting the roughness higher, you can achieve some cool artistic results:

Diamond v2 - High Roughness

Roughness of 0.100

I’ve also added the ability to use a custom IOR, which makes it really easy to adapt it for other gemstones.

There is now a custom dispersion input which takes the base IOR and adds the amount onto the previous one (e.g. IOR of 1.000 and dispersion of 0.500 gives IOR values of 1.000, 1.500, and 2.000 respectively).

EDIT: here are the correct IORs for different colors passing through diamond: red 2.410, green 2.426, and blue 2.444.

Diamond v2 - Low Dispersion

Dispersion of 0.010

Diamond v2 - High Dispersion

Dispersion of 0.078

Absorption works the same, although I darkened the default color. Again, I recommend not increasing the density past 50, otherwise the color becomes oversaturated. By combining the absorption in different ways you can create some really unique results.

Diamond v2 Absorption

Density of 20

Diamond v2 - Blue Absorption

Hue 0.600, Saturation of 1.000; Density of 20

Diamond v2 - Colored Blue Absorption

Color: Hue of 0, Saturation of 0.050; Absoorption Color: Hue of 0.600, Saturation of 1.000; Density of 20

I also did a top render to show how the dispersion looks from above:

Diamond v2 Top

Just to see how this shader works in other environments, I added an HDRI. (I’m using the apartment HDRI  from the sIBL Starter Collection. You can download it here: http://www.hdrlabs.com/sibl/downloads/sIBL-Collection.zip)

Diamond v2 HDRI Background

Diamond v2 HDRI Background 60deg

HDRI rotated on the Z axis by 60deg

Diamond v2 HDRI Background 180deg

HDRI rotated on the Z axis by 180deg

I hope you enjoyed this shader, and feel free to give me feedback on it. You can download the shader here: Diamond Shader v2

Standard

3 thoughts on “Material Study: Diamond v2

  1. Pingback: Дисперсия света в Cycles

Leave a Reply

